RSS Feed

Best base coat ever?

Well, at least for me. My local Wal Mart went and re-did its cosmetic area. They did a complete overhaul of the nail polish section, which was like walking into heaven for me. There was a plethora of new nail goodies that I couldn’t WAIT to stare at for hours. I do that a lot. Drool over polish that I don’t have the money to purchase. Well, that and pens. I could stare at pens forever. If someone ever put pens and nail polish in the same aisle…I’d be a goner. Oh and notebooks! You know what…just, ignore that whole thing about pens and notebooks. This is a nail polish blog. And I have gotten quite off topic.

ANYWHO. One day before work, I discovered that some new line of base and top coats, as well as nail treatments, had surfaced. They were hard to miss in bottles like this (no rhyme intended):

WHA-BAM! DO YOU SEE THAT VOLUME MEASURE?

I should have prefaced this picture with the whole: The standard volume of a lacquer is about 15mL so this bottle is a monster, yadda yadda yadda but I think it’s pretty obvious, since I can barely get all of my fingers around the bottle. Now, I have said time and time again that I work in an industry that is NOT kind on hands and nails. So when I’m working, I don’t often paint my nails a colour that I love, love LOVE because at the end of the day, none of that polish survives. For obvious reasons, I was skeptical of this base coat’s claim of “EPOXY!” I’ve used epoxy. If you get that shit on something, it is NOT coming off without a fight. But at $5 (yes you read that right, FIVE BUCKS) it’s worth a try. At least if it doesn’t work, I don’t have to buy base coat for a while.

So I followed the instructions (apply two coats to clean, bare nails and let dry) and then painted on one of my most GORGEOUS polishes:

Uh...ok not the best picture. Let's try that again...

This is a bit better...

This is an amazing Quo by Orly glassfleck polish called Turquoise Moonlight. Basically Orly just bottled up the leftovers from their Cosmic FX line and gave them new names. But I don’t care. This is a beautiful colour. It always makes me think of The Little Mermaid and when you get this sucker out in the sun…well. It should be illegal for polish of this magnitude to have to suffer winter months of sunless days…

I applied this polish on a Saturday night, on top of this Wunderbase and slept on it. The second picture is Sunday morning, before an 8 hour shift of hard, hand labor. I didn’t apply top coat…because I am a naughty lacquer head and chose sleep over shine.

RED BULL! Er...ENERGY DRINK!

This was taken this morning, before Family Day at Quiznos. For those Americans out there, that is Canada’s answer to President’s Day. We don’t have presidents and with the Prime Minister we’ve had for the last…six elections, we wouldn’t dare make up a holiday to celebrate him.

Well: POO. ON. FAMILY DAY. We three workers got DESTROYED by the hungry crowds. The dishes piled up and the sandwiches just kept coming. I couldn’t leave the line for the entire five and a half hours I was there. So how did my nails fare?

Wunderbase. That is what I'm calling it FOREVER

That chip on my index finger is from where my nail peeled. And my right hand had some chips because, well, I’m right handed and that hand takes more abuse.

So, to sum up: THIS BASE COAT IS AMAZING AND ONLY COSTS FIVE DOLLARS AT WAL MART! So anyone who wants to keep a mani lasting longer than six seconds, BUY THIS. The best way I can describe how it works, is this: Remember when you were in elementary school and you got white glue on your hands? And when it dried, you could peel it off? ( I know you know what I’m talking about) Yeah. This base coat does that. But somehow absorbs the polish and the two meld into this glorious mani that can apparently take on the world.

I could have saved you this time and just titled the entry: “BUY THIS NAO!” and shown a picture of the bottle. But where’s the fun in that?

About triztron

I don't really live in a place called Brockvegas. It's called Brockville.

Talk to me!

