RSS Feed

Sesame Street Nail Art

Posted on

Hello world! I’m watching some terrible show where people are in love with weird things (Like vacuum cleaners O_O) and I had an extreme nail polish breakthrough: Instead of buying the entire Pop Art collection from Color Club, I bought this:

20120508-202214.jpg

Japanese beer! Yeah I don’t know what’s wrong with me. Anywho, this doesn’t have anything to do with my actual post for today.

When I was a kid, I luuuuuuurrrrrrrved Sesame Street. Forever being a pessimist, Oscar The Grouch was my favourite character. He still holds a special place in my heart (mainly because I am forever a grouch) but Grover is the coolest. And. with my love for baking, I feel for Cookie Monster because of the STUPID parents that are looking for someone to place blame on because their kid is obese, so they complained and said Cookie Monster was the cause of their porker child. I’m sorry, but a blue puppet who LOVES cookies, is not the reason that you have a fat fucking kid. That’s on you. You don’t care enough to take the box of Chips Ahoy away from your kid and tell them to go play outside. Your kid is fat, because you don’t give a shit. Sorry. That was my rant. Here is my nail art:

I tried to go for a trash can look on my nails, with an Oscar accent. I LOVE my Oscar nail. He turned out SO much better than I thought he would!

Here he is in all his sunny glory! I know Oscar would not enjoy the sun but when he rents my nails, he gets what I tell him to! Ignore the bubbles on my trash can nails!

Now…time for Cookie Monster. I love my nails. I love that I haven’t bitten my nails in over a year. And I love that with a little help from my nail polish, I can make Cookie Monster happen on my nails. Oh and some help from flocking powder.

Me want cookie!

I used Color Club’s “Nomadic In Nude” as the base and then sponged “Earthy Angel” over top, before using Revlon “Hot For Chocolate” as the chocolate chips. I used a flocking powder that I picked up at Michael’s for Cookie’s blue fur, and then added some Fimo eyes. It was definitely a great look, but something you really can’ get away with if you work with food. The powder held up to hand washing and showers; once dried off, it went right back to being fluffy! I was very impressed. But because you can’t put top coat over the powder…sadly it could not survive more than a day.

If you have any suggestions for nail art, please let me know, because I want to get better at freehand/nail art!

 

Talk to me!

