RSS Feed

TDONTD: Revlon VS Wet N Wild VS Rimmel London

Posted on

Oh hay, remember when I kept saying I would have a new To Dupe or Not To Dupe? lined up for ‘my next post’? Yeah…well here it is! I actually found a few polishes that would have worked out well for this edition but then I noticed that one of the most popular “search terms” that brings people to my blog is Wet n Wild’s Ready To Pounce. More specifically, a dupe for that polish. Well, Explorers, I may have what you’re looking for. The other day (ever since returning to work, they all blend together) I was at my local Dollarama and they had boxes labelled Revlon. One of the employees ran up to the woman stocking the shelves and started squawking about nail polish. Even through my earphone filled ears, I could hear her. Probably because I am always on the hunt for nail polish treasure. Well…that day (which I just remembered was a Friday) I got lucky. They had the current collection of Top Speed colours, which was sort of a bummer because I’ve already picked up the colours I wanted. Or so I thought.

I snagged Grape (and Hazy, which we will save for later) because it was a deep, vampy purple and I instantly fell in love. For two bucks(!), WHY NOT? These polishes are at least 5 bucks at Wal Mart.

But then I got home. It’s funny how ALL knowledge of your nail polish stash goes out the window as soon as you leave the house. When I took it out of the bag, I immediately realized it shared a striking resemblance to the last vampy purple I wore and ADORED.

 

Ready To Pounce was from WNW’s 2011 Halloween/On The Prowl  collection. It was a collection that caused a mild frenzy because WNW always outdoes themselves for Halloween. But this collection took the cake, as far as I’m concerned. And I was devastated when Halloween came and went with no appearance of this collection. Then, on a random day in November, it was there. In the grocery store of all places. The lady in the beauty department must have thought I was insane with the speed I used to grab every last bottle in the display.

With the bottles side by side, RTP looks more red toned than Grape.

Look at that sexiness!

RTP also appears to have more shimmer. But on a nail wheel…

ONE COAT

Woah, wait. So the red toned purple looks blue and the blue toned purple looks…red? These are the two beauties at one coat. Not complete dupes.

The colour on the far left is Rimmel London’s The Night Before. This colour comes from their 60 Second line. And as you can see, is a MUCH closer relative to Ready To Pounce. The red shimmer is a hair more vibrant in RTP than it is in TNB. Grape is merely a cousin to these two twins.

While TNB is not exactly a dupe for RTP, it is still a twin. Just a fraternal one. And I imagine it is much easier to find than the discontinued Ready To Pounce.

I hope this helped all you luscious, velvety purple lovers in your quest for the perfect vampy violet!

 

 

 

 

About triztron

I don't really live in a place called Brockvegas. It's called Brockville.

Talk to me!

