RSS Feed

Fossil Friday: NYX Lime

Long time no post! But seriously…hello folks! I am actually very excited to start this feature, because as much as I love and adore all of the blogs I follow, I get a little burnt out with new, well known, collections being swatched all at the same time. Don’t get me wrong; those girls kill all of their swatches and I am sort of jealous I have limited access to new collection. But it’s kind of nice (for me) to see something a touch different. Enter my ancient polish collection! I am a sucker for nostalgia, so when I see another blog post swatches of a polish I have, I get very giddy. Why? Who knows?

This time, I chose…ok no. Mr. J chose, NYX Lime. I will offer mild backstory when I can remember it…which may not be all that often. Anywho…NYX Lime is a polish I picked up eons (about six years) ago, when I lived in Ottawa and worked at Laser Quest. I grabbed three polishes because, even though I wasn’t a lacquerhead, I still liked having painted nails. And I have always felt a connection with the ugly-pretty aspect of life. My momtar calls me “quirky” but I’m just plain weird. So of course, the second I saw this colour, I NEEDED it. I used to call it Slimer green, even though Slimer is radioactive. I think I just wanted to ignore that this colour was more like vomit or baby poo. But again, I DIDN’T CARE.

NYX Lime2

I don’t know why this looks so weird. But this polish is slightly bluer in tone. And looks less like…a bodily expulsion. And I honestly forgot how much I love this polish! I got so wrapped up in glitter and shimmer and…sparkly beauties…that I forgot my love of the ugly colours. Now, NYX has since release a new (glassfleck, shimmery) version of Lime, that I also purchased because it was pretty. And I love, love, LOVE the new bottles. Apparently very Deborah Lippman’s bottles. I wouldn’t know hahaha. But I love them for organizational purposes. Especially for those STUPID NOPI bottles. Why? Why? WHY WOULD YOU UNLEASH BOTTLES LIKE THAT ON THE POLISH WORLD, OPI! Mr. J has a co-worker who is a bit of a neat-freak. I showed him the NOPI bottles and that was all he said; WHY.

NYX Lime3

Under a flash-light, you can see the yellow undertone of this polish. I don’t care what light I view this under, I still love it. I tried to take accurate colour photos of this polish but I didn’t overly succeed. So I took pictures at work under florescent light and with a Mountain Dew bottle.

NYX Lime5

Mildly more colour accurate. Seriously. I love this. And I will NOT be purging it.

The formula was great. It smelled like a chem lab, but it flowed like a dream. I used two coats but should’ve used three. Say what you want about all of those chemical laden polishes of yesterday, but I loved how easy this was to control and it was before the time of the 3-Free polishes that still had to find their formula footing. I would definitely use three coats next time, or two coats over some light-neutral underwear. I think I might use Mr. J to choose many of my Fossil Friday polishes…

Either way, thanks for stopping by and I will be back with one of my Drugstore favourites: GOSH!

About triztron

I don't really live in a place called Brockvegas. It's called Brockville.

One response »

  1. I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Check my latest post for details!

    Reply

Talk to me!

