RSS Feed

What’s goin’ on here? Nail Polish Rack update!

Posted on

Aloha readers! I’m not sure if I actually came right out and said it or not, but I took the plunge and made my own nail polish racks out of foamboard based on THIS tutorial. I will admit I was skeptical. I mean…nail polish can get pretty heavy. But I made two and figured I’d give them a shot. Well…I haven’t even hung them yet but I love them. Nail polish never looked so pretty.

DSC05829

Yes. That is moustache duct tape. I love moustaches. I am definitely going to make more racks.

…once I heal. Yes. That is another reason why I am here today. I was cleaning my polish room today, when disaster struck. Reaching in to a drawer, the middle finger on my photo hand found a broken exacto knife blade. And that blade was ANGRY.

DSC05830

I spent the better part of an hour in the ER, with a maxi pad wrapped and taped to my finger. Somehow, in my adrenaline filled haze, I had the sense to wrap my finger in something designed to absorb copious amounts of blood, not bleed anywhere in the apartment, run out of said apartment AND remember to lock the door, and book it to the hospital. Yeah. Shock is a wonderful thing. It wasn’t until I got there that the shaking and the reality set in. It was just under the cuticle. Did I hit any nerves? Did I get my nail bed? Will I need stitches? Will I ever blog again?

I kid you now, that was one of my questions in my head. So, I got my “stitches”, got bandaged up and walked home to continue my cleaning. Now I wish I had called in to work, because my finger is in excruciating pain and I can’t bend it. Also I’m not allowed to get it wet. If you’re new to my blog, I work at Quiznos. That is like a death trap for a finger that just had a bad breakup with a broken blade.

I am also now well aware of all the things you can’t do with a middle finger that won’t bend without making you want to murder everything in the immediate area.

So, for now, you will get a random assortment of pictures and maybe some current ones with something photoshopped over my stupidity of an injury.

Moral of the story? Just dump the effing drawer onto the floor.

About triztron

I don't really live in a place called Brockvegas. It's called Brockville.

6 responses »

  1. Love your nail polish racks and your choice of duct tape. Good job! Now good luck with the healing of your finger.

    Reply
  2. I think you could warrant being unable to ever tidy up again and someone else will have to do it for you. 😉 kidding!! Hope it heals sooner rather than later!!

    Reply
  3. Wow! A polish room related injury! That’s quite a war story! The racks look awesome! 🙂

    Reply

Talk to me!

