RSS Feed

To Dupe or Not To Dupe: Sally Hansen Pacific Blue

Posted on

Aloha! Welcome back to my “To Dupe or Not To Dupe” series! It’s been awhile since I’ve done one of these posts. And I actually have a couple more lined up. Shocking, I know. But I figured with all of the shenanigans surrounding Sally Hansen’s Pacific Blue, now was a good time to start again. If you haven’t heard, SH completely changed one of their core colours, but left it with the same name. This isn’t the first time they’ve done it, and it certainly won’t be the last, I’m sure. The new Pacific Blue is a nice shimmery blue, however, it is a dramatic step away from the original. The old PB was a gorgeous dusty, almost cornflower blue cream that I really don’t have anything else even close to it in my vast hoard collection. I couldn’t even find a single bottle left to buy as a backup. It’s almost as if store employees just took them and hid them all away. A very sad day in my life. Which says a lot about my life. So, one day I was browsing through the nail polish at Wal Mart, as I so often do, and I saw some random Maybelline polishes. And there was one that looked like it was a dead on dupe for PB. So I snatched it up and here we are. How did it do against Pacific Blue? Well, let’s find out…

Blue BombshellVPacific Blue

I apologize for the state of my cuticles. I’ve been washing a lot of blenders. For some reason, only one of my nails shows a colour difference in the swatches. And, it’s actually accurate. This Maybelline, called Blue Bombshell, is a touch darker than Pacific Blue. It’s less noticeable in pictures but it was glaringly obvious in person. But really, it’s a fair substitute. And if you were feeling REALLY adventurous, you could add a drop or two of white or very light grey, and see where it takes you. In the sun, you could barely tell the difference between them.

Blue BombshellVPacific Blue4

Is it an exact dupe? No. Is it close enough to fill he void? It depends on how attached you are to Pacific Blue. I will say that the Maybelline polish comes in a smaller bottle, which is a bit of a bummer to me since you get less product. But at the end of the day, that’s just splitting hairs. I would be interested to see how PB compares to Essie’s Butler Please. But I don’t have that polish. If I come across it, I’ll just have to pick it up and see.

Thanks for tuning in!

About triztron

I don't really live in a place called Brockvegas. It's called Brockville.

Talk to me!

